Graphic Novel Recommendations

As I go along, trying to learn more about the art form of the graphic novel, I have been asking artists and fans for their recommendations as to which graphic novels I should  study, and other books about understanding the art form.  Some of these books were recommended over and over from many sources, some only once.

Here is a collection of their recommendations and other books that I have discovered in my quest (and online searching):

Barnum!: In Secret Service to the USA, by Howard Chaykin and David Tischman, art by Niko Henrichon

Comics and Sequential Art, by Will Eisner

The Complete Idiot’s Guide to Creating a Graphic Novel, by Nat Gertler and Steve Lieber

Ex Machina, created by Brian K. Vaughan and Tony Harris

Graphic Storytelling and Visual Narrative: Principles and Practices from the Legendary Cartoonist, by Will Eisner

I Kill Giants, by Joe Kelly, art by J.M. Ken Nimura

Kill Your Boyfriend, by Grant Morrison, art by Philip Bond and D’Israeli

Life, in Pictures, Autobiographical Stories, by Will Eisner

Maus and Maus II, by Art Spiegelman

Persepolis, by Marjane Satrapi

Promethea, by Alan Moore, art by J.H. Williams III, Mick Gray, Jose Villarrubia, & Jeromy Cox

Runaways, created by Brian K. Vaughan

Sandman, by Neil Gaiman

Scott Pilgrim, by Bryan Lee O’Malley

Stuck Rubber Baby, by Howard Cruse

Terry and the Pirates, created by Milton Caniff

Understanding Comics, by Scott McCloud

The Unwritten, by Mike Carey

Watchmen, by Alan Moore, art by Dave Gibbons

Watching the Watchmen, by Dave Gibbons (about the making of)

Y: the Last Man, by Brian K. Vaughan

OTHER GRAPHIC NOVELS I HAVE PICKED UP ALONG THE WAY TO STUDY:

Adventures in Oz, by Eric Shanower

Age of Bronze, by Eric Shanower

Artesia, by Mark Smylie

The Killer,  by Matz, art by Luc Jacamon

High Tech High’s Graphic Novel Project, first 3 Issues: La Sombra de America; Modern Mythology; Nice Meeting You, Goodbye

Inanna’s Tears, by Rob Vollmar, art by mpMann

Moon Lake, an anthology created by Dan Fogler

Mouseguard Fall 1152, by David Petersen

To the Power Against, Issues 1-4, by Carrie Smith, art by Stephanie Lantry

I found a link to this article:

27 Amazing Graphic Novels for Readers New to the Genre

Some of  the ones listed there are on the list I gathered, too.  I was especially gratified to see Mouseguard Fall 1152 among them.  I’ve read it twice now, and I love it.

I also found this on WordPress:

Anabelle Hamilton’s Blog.  She has a page on Graphic Novels and Developing a Story.  If you’re following my blog, hers might interest you, too.  I haven’t read all of hers yet, but I look forward to exploring it.  In fact, she linked to the article above about 27 Graphic Novels.

Does you have others to add to the lists?  Please comment and let me know.  Thanks!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. anabelle hamilton
    Apr 10, 2011 @ 03:20:40

    Thank you for the mention on your blog. I have read through yours with great interest and I look forward to following your story and the development of your ideas. Anabelle Hamilton.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

